Windy Field Work Carrying Buster (Idaho Road Trip)

I  “Kite-surfed” the canvas into my painting location.  I chose a site to paint in a closed-off section of the National Monument so that I could be left alone to concentrate.  I’m tired of tourists invading my personal space in order to photograph what they perceive me looking at.  Winds are gusty at this time of year.  I’m flying, existing and emoting among the rubble–a more natural kind of rubble and desolation than the kind of environments I’ve been accustomed to working in the past decade (in the “Workplace Series”).  With these Crater Canvases, I’m mostly painting with knives and a trowel flat on the ground.  I’m using asphalt out of a jug and mixing it with the paint directly on the canvas. Cinders get blown onto wax-medium skies and occasionally holes are punctured through the picture plain from wind impaling the surface on driftwood sagebrush tips.  I am sunburned and dehydrated.  I have to carry Buster or the lava will shred his paws.

I’m not sure if I should put an occasional wildflower in.  I don’t want to be a beautician. I’m not interested in extraneous marks of beauty in these works.  I want them to be raw and visceral.  I want them simple and unenhanced.  I want them to be as ordinary as a Smithson found monument.  I like the contrast and starkness and the directness of the marks.  The viewer can wear the color and baubles.

.

About this entry